Like other independent schools, Grymes Memorial School is governed by an independent, self-perpetuating board of trustees. Comprised of current and former parents, alumni, friends and leading members of the community, the Board’s primary responsibility is to sustain the school’s mission through wise financial and strategic planning, establishing appropriate policies and oversight of the school’s finances.

The Board appoints the Head of School, who reports directly to the Board. The Head of School is responsible for operating the school, selecting staff members, admitting students, directing curriculum, implementing program and communicating with parents and with the community at large.

2019 – 2020 Board of Trustees

Franklin Daniels, Chairman
Maggie Bullard ’93, Vice Chairman
Aiden Burke ’84, Secretary
Jim Collins, Treasurer

Jennifer Hulsey, At Large
Yancey Ford, At Large 

David Perdue
Paige Sullenberger
Betty Long
Tom Bond
Jalal Akhavein
John Reynolds
Pat Barnhardt

Katharine McBride, Emerita
V.R. Shackelford, III, Emeritus
Anne Ueltschi, Emerita