• Grymes is a special school, a small family community with deep roots in tradition and a keen eye on the future.

Like other independent schools, Grymes Memorial School is governed by an independent, self-perpetuating board of trustees. Comprised of current and former parents, alumni, friends and leading members of the community, the Board’s primary responsibility is to sustain the school’s mission through wise financial and strategic planning, establishing appropriate policies and oversight of the school’s finances.

The Board appoints the Head of School, who reports directly to the Board. The Head of School is responsible for operating the school, selecting staff members, admitting students, directing curriculum, implementing program and communicating with parents and with the community at large.

Current Board of Trustees

Franklin Daniels, Chairman
Phoebe Warmack, Vice Chairman
Maggie Bullard ’93, Secretary
Frank Thomas, Treasurer
Tom Bond, At Large
Andrew Campbell ’96, At Large
Horton Beebe-Center
Aiden Burke ’84
Yancey Ford
Anna May
Deborah Moore
David Perdue
Ward Sims
Bernice Walker
Nancy Wiley
Kitty McBride, Emeritus
Anne Ueltschi, Emeritus
Virginius Shackelford, III, Emeritus